SPARC Executive Committee

Timur Engin

1st Vice President (Events)
Jayne Ham

2nd Vice President (Membership)
Leslie Mayr

3rd Vice Presidents (Grass Roots)
Dee Buhler & John McDonnell

Dr. Alexander Glew

Rodney Neils-Mayr

Message from the President

Congratulations on locating SPARC—the South Peninsula Area Republican Coalition! As one Bay Area Republican City Councilmember told us at a recent event: “Take a seat at the table! If you’re not at the table, you might be on the menu!”

At SPARC, we invite you to pull up a chair and have a seat at our table as we hold monthly dinner meetings to discuss the issues vital to the quality of all our lives, including: how to fund outstanding government pensions; how to educate our children without taking on crushing debt; what to do about that low speed “high speed” rail plan in California; how to cope with job-killing regulations and ever higher taxes; and, facing the obstacles to decent housing for the next generation. And more!

At SPARC, we are a force for good which seeks to find common ground among a diverse group of Republicans who believe that constitutional guarantees and free market principles are a good basis for government, at all levels. Our past speakers include: Carly Fiorina; the Hon. Tom Campbell; the Hon. Pete Constant; Judge Quentin Kopp; Neel Kashkari; California Assemblywoman Catharine Baker; California Assemblywoman Ling Ling Chang; Columnist Victor Davis Hanson; Sheriff Laurie Smith, and many others.  Check out our event list. We schedule new and interesting speakers all the time.

As an organization, we know we’re doing something right, by a variety of standards. We’ve been having record attendance at our monthly dinners, as well as at our annual August picnic and December Christmas Party. So come join the fun and learn something along the way about this Grand Old Party—the party of Abraham Lincoln!

Peter Coe Verbica

Recent Past President
South Peninsula Area Republican Coalition (SPARC)

Board of Directors

D. JoAnn Barr
Joe Buchanan
Dee Buhler
Luis Buhler
Timur Engin
Tanya Fang
Dr. Alexander Glew
Jayne Ham
Peter Kuo
Richard Liu
John McDonnell
Ellen Mernick
Rodney Neils-Mayr
Paul Nyberg
Peter Ohtaki
Marsha Robertson
Peter Coe Verbica
George Yang